Case Study: Modern Austen Adaptation

So I come from a large family of 6 girls. When I told some of my sisters about this project they suggested I take a look at the Lizzie Bennet Diaries – a modern adaptation of ‘Pride and Prejudice’ [My sisters also explained how in this adaptation Lizzie is a media/communications grad student]. When I looked at how it was done it ended up being a really interesting and well done transmedia project (in fact they just won a Streamy Award for Best Interactive Program). The story is told across YouTube, Facebook, Tumblr, Twitter, fake websites, etc- immersing viewers into the social sphere of the characters of the book. The series started in April of last year and since then has continued to have a steady (and growing) fan based. 

Here is a link to my presentation

Here is a map of all the social media accounts for each character. You can click on each. 

 

Leave a Reply

